His Way, Not Mine

5952294100_c3f69b0058_z“Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails” Proverbs 19:21

Since the moment we left Nashville, responding to the massive flooding with a three week disaster relief trip, we knew that everything we did from then on would be about making missionary work our life.

 
We set out a plan, decided to work for awhile to save the money, made a move to Mississippi to be closer to our home church, make new plans, set dates, set new dates, and prayed the day would come.

 
That was three years ago.

In those three years, we were working so hard towards something and yet, we never could achieve it. We’d look at one another and wonder, as the months went by, why it was so hard to pursue what we knew God wanted us to pursue.

 
The answer is simple.

 
WE were trying to make it work. WE were making the plans and WE were trying to do it our way.

 
We.
Not Him.

 
When the news hit about the tornado’s in Texas, something changed. I felt like the time was up and it was time to give Him back FULL control. It was time to let go of ‘the plans’ and follow the road He laid out in front of us. The road where I won’t have all the answers, and I won’t have all the money stored up. The road that was none of us and all of Him.
For me, that is so hard. In fact, even though I was sitting there watching the news coverage, feeling so over-overwhelmingly called, the doubts were sprouting up. What about our bills? our debt? Kurt’s job? Our family? Could we really just leave? Kurt’s sister is having a baby soon, shouldn’t we be here for that? Oh, and my brother graduates high school. Can I miss that? What about this? or that?

 
I was terrified to make the leap and I was justifying everything so I wouldn’t have to.
I messaged a friend, and explained my fears. She answered in one sentence:

 
You ALWAYS answer the call.

 
So, it was time to forget our plans. Time to stop trying to have a backup plan and know that God will provide and carry us.

 
It’s His way now, not ours, and I feel like we are going to do great things for His kingdom.
With that said, our first stop is Granbury, Texas and we leave as soon as we can raise the money to get there! I can’t believe God chose me for this adventure, and I pray that in all things, I remember to give Him control and see more of Him and less of me.

 
You can follow our journey here: Morton Missions
And if you feel lead to support our mission, big or small, please make a donation here

Thank you all, amazing readers, for your love and support from the beginning. You are apart of this journey with us and we can’t thank you enough.

 
With love and Blessings,
Jenny

Photo Credit: Moyan_Brenn, Flickr Creative Commons

S

Leave a Reply

